Scone Grammar School offers courses within the syllabus framework as prescribed by the New South Wales Board of Studies. These courses lead to the award of the New South Wales ROSA in secondary school, and to the award of the New South Wales Higher School Certificate at the end of Year 12.

Year 7 begins with the beginning of Stage 4.

During Stage 4 (Years 7 and 8) at Scone Grammar School, students complete a programme pattern of study that includes:


  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Physical Education, Health and Personal Development (PD/H/PE)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Languages other than English (French)
  • Visual Art
  • Music
  • Technology Mandatory
  • Religious Education
  • Equine Studies, or Japanese or Fitness


Students also participate in mandatory sport each week and attend the School’s Chapel service once a week.

During Stage 5 (Years 9 and 10), students complete studies that lead towards the award of the ROSA. These courses include both a selection of mandatory courses (English; Mathematics; Science; PD/H/PE; Australian History, Australian Geography, Civics and Citizenship; and Religious Education), as well as selecting three elective subjects from an offered range.

Stage 5 Electives Offered for 2016:

  • Visual Arts
  • Food Technology
  • Design & Technology
  • Japanese
  • French
  • Information & Software Technology
  • Agriculture
  • Elective History
  • Elective Geography
  • Drama
  • Commerce
  • Physical Activity & Sports Studies
  • Music

Stage 5 students also participate in mandatory sport each week and attend the School’s Chapel service once a week.

During Stage 6 (Years 11 and 12) students complete studies within the curriculum as prescribed by the New South Wales Preliminary Higher School Certificate (typically Year 11), and Higher School Certificate or HSC (typically Year 12). Although ordinarily students will take two years to finish their Stage 6 courses of study, students may take up to five years to accumulate these qualifications.

All students in Stage 6 must study at least two units of English, however, beyond this they may select their own pattern of study. In Year 12 (the HSC year/s) students must complete a minimum of 10 units of study (ie, five “two-unit” courses). It is recommended that students undertake no more than 15 units of study at the HSC, except in exceptional circumstances.

Stage 6 Electives offered for 2016:

  • English Advanced
  • English Standard
  • English Studies
  • English Life Skills
  • English Extension 1
  • English Extension 2
  • Drama
  • Business Studies
  • Ancient History
  • Geography
  • Studies of Religion II
  • Community & Family Studies
  • Music I
  • Music II
  • Biology
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Senior Science
  • Agriculture
  • VET. Information & Digital Technology
  • Mathematics Extension I
  • Mathematics Extension II
  • Mathematics
  • General 2 Mathematics
  • Industrial Technology
  • Visual Arts
  • VET Hospitality

For any further information, please email Director of Curriculum, Mrs Deanna Hollis.